The Portrait of a Writer (1)

Leave a comment

June 19, 2013 by Lindsay

Lucky me! I woke up this morning to find there is now someone following my blog. As it happens, the first person following my little fledgling, newborn-baby blog turns out to be an exceptionally talented and inspiring writer by the name of Christian Mikai. I just took some time to check out his blog, and I’m glad I did. In this post, The Portrait if a Writer, he deals with the need for truth in the creative process.  While this is written from a writer’s point-of-view, it will nonetheless resonate with visual artists, designers, musicians, performers— anyone who endeavours to create something real and meaningful and moving. Christian Mikai’s  post is dead-on— definitely worth reading (and re-reading again, from time to time). That merit’s a re-blog, in my book.

Cristian Mihai

I began writing in my most vulnerable years. I was dumb and arrogant, as most teenagers seem to be, and I did my best to pour greatness into every sentence I wrote. But I was also lying to myself, writing about what I didn’t know, pretending to know, and I got caught and people could see that I wasn’t willing to let them in – I  was building this wall to protect my true self from anyone who would be searching for it behind my words. There was nothing that belonged to me in the stories I wrote.

View original post 395 more words

Go ahead, leave a comment. Say whatever's on your mind– good, bad, irrelevant– whatever... So uninspired or ambivalent about this that you have nothing to say? Tell me. Because, If that's the case, then I should probably do something about it.

Paintings

Outside the Birdcage

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 192 other followers

